November 2014 End of Year  Celebration

Building One Pennsylvania thanks our sponsors (see below) and supporters who gathered November 20th for our end of year celebration where we celebrated our progress, honored our partners, allies and outstanding leaders, and re-dedicated ourselves to promoting an inclusive, stable and economically prosperous Pennsylvania.

Representatives Mike Vereb and Mike Sturla were on hand to receive the Unified Pennsylvania award for building bi-partisan support for a state transportation funding bill that will fix Pennsylvania’s aging and deteriorating infrastructure, create jobs and make our regions more attractive to private investment.  As members of the Basic Education Funding Commission, they pledged to create the same bi-partisan support for a sound school funding formula.

David Rusk, founding president of  Building One America, received a lifetime achievement award for his tireless consulting to regional groups around the state about strategies for overcoming the competition for tax base among municipalities and school districts that is weakening older cities and suburbs, concentrating poverty, and driving consumption of open space.

Click here to see the full list of honorees.  Click here to read a York Dispatch editorial, and York Dispatch article discussing Rusk’s perspective in the context of tension between the school district and a state-appointed recovery officer over turning the entire school district over to a for-profit charter company.  The editorial notes that the question — what do you do about a district that is bleeding money and failing its students — will be the same for Governor-elect Wolf, and suggests that he begin by changing the question to “What do you do about a system of government that concentrates poverty, automatically putting students and schools at a disadvantage?”

Building One Pennsylvania has been a voice for prioritizing our older cities and suburbs through regional planning, balanced housing, and investment in schools and infrastructure.  You can support this work by making your tax-deductible contribution to Building One Pennsylvania.  Contributions can be made on-line by clicking here, or by mailing your donation to P.O.  Box 1246, Lansdowne, PA, 19050.

2014 Sponsors

Construction Association of Western Pennsylvania
Friedman Shuman Attorneys At Law
United States Steel Corporation
Wayne Presbyterian Church
Arthur J. Gallagher & Co.
Ann B. Barshinger
Brandywine Health Foundation
Bristol Township School District
C.S.Davidson Inc.
Chapel of Good Shepherd
Clairton Lions Club
Community First Fund
Dollar Bank
Drexel Hill United Methodist Church
Sean Flaherty
Housing Authority of the County of Chester
Andrea Humphrey
Laborers’ District Council Local Union 135
Lansdowne Borough
Richard Lattanzi
J.P. Mascaro & Sons
Law Office of John P. McKelligott
Thomas McCasland
McKinley Memorial Baptist Church
Mercy Fitzgerald Hospital
Partners for Public Education
Penn State Fayette Eberly Campus
Penn State New Kensington
Pennsylvania Housing Finance Agency
Quadel Consulting
St. James Episcopal Church
The Garden Church
United Steelworkers Local 2227
Wayne Presbyterian Church
David White, Delaware County Council
Yeadon Borough
Jessica Anderson
Darrell Auterson
Ian Bassin
Jane N Beatty
Senator Jim Brewster
Joseph Bruni
Julien Cantengreil
Donald Clarke
Angela Clinton
Jane Conover
Rev. Ed Crenshaw
Carlton DeBord
Michele DeBord
James DeBord
Elizabeth Dewar
Tom Donley
Jamie Dycus
Katie Scharf Dykes
Rev. David Eckert
Shireen Farr
Sameera Fazili
Joey Fishkin
Ethan Fletcher
Lin Floyd
Jackie Foor
Jane Gao
Lisa Galloway
Don Gogniat
James Hannan
Adam Gordon and Kari Hexem
Bill & Nancy Henderson
Sarah Hexem
Commissioner Doug Hoke
Adam Hollander
Tracey Horst
Pamela Jensen
Susan Kensill
Carol Klauss
Allen Kukovich
Marty Laird
John Lattanzi
Dennis Leeper
Mardys Leeper
Adam Lioz
Larry Miller
Lori Mitrick
Eileen Mulvena
Kenneth Myers
Tim Nelson
Bosede Ogunleye
Jordan Pallitto
Jonathan Pinkerton
Janis Risch
William Swartz
Kathy Tachoir
Angela Thompson
Rebecca Tinio
Todd Tyson
Joe Wagman
David Wilkinson
Keith Williams, Esq.
Robert Woods